New Rockford Transcript - Official Newspaper of Eddy County since 1883

Heartbreak for Sox in extra-inning region championship


May 27, 2019

Jenna Lee Photography

All-Region 3 Team selections- Back row: Theodore Allmaras, Bo Belquist, Drew Page, Tucker Longnecker, Ty Biesterfeld. Front row: Kyle Leapaldt, Parker Hager, Blake Pfaff, Payton Smith, Lucas Geiszler, Jayden Rath.

With the time reaching just after 6:30 p.m. in Steele, the valiant three-game run for the SNR Black Sox to try and topple Region 3 power Carrington finally ran out of juice.

And, considering where they came from to get there and the multiple opportunities they had to close the Cardinals out, the dejected walk off Pirate Field was even more stinging.

The 'Sox and Cards engaged in two wild championship games, but Carrington earned the right to play in the State B Tournament for the fifth straight year and seventh time in an eight-year stretch in a come-from-behind, 17-16 marathon in 11 inning...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 08/21/2019 06:57