New Rockford Transcript - Official Newspaper of Eddy County since 1883

ND Forest Service recognizes New Rockford with 2019 Tree Celebration Award


November 25, 2019

Senator Joan Heckaman, Mayor Cal Packard, and Nancy and George Ritzke of the New Rockford Trees

Board accepted the 2019 "Tree Celebration" Trees Award at the Trees Bowl and Awards Ceremony held in Fargo on Oct. 19, 2019.

Nominations were received from across the state and the award winners were recognized by the North Dakota Forest Service and North Dakota State University.

The 2019 celebration was a wonderful way to recognize the efforts of everyone in response to the July 2018 storm. This is an excellent example of how tragedy can bring out the good in people, where the community came to the aid of those most in need; neighbors helped neighbors, whether you knew your neighbor's name or not, as everyone struggled to clean up the extensive debris left behind by the storm. Within a few days, the community had regained a sense of normalcy. But it will take years for the recovery of the tree canopy that framed the streets and residences of New Rockford— and, it will take a bit of effort from everyone.

During the awards ceremony, North Dakota State University President Dean Bresciani and State Forester Thomas Claeys presented each winner with a Trees Awards plaque and limited-edition Centennial Trees print. The award winners were also recognized on the field during the NDSU half-time activities at the winning Trees Bowl football game in the Fargodome.

The 2019 Trees Awards winners are:

• Community of the Year- City of Wahpeton

• Conservation Achievement- Arnie and Karen Zelinsky of Dickinson

• Distinguished Service- Paul Beck of Des Lacs

• Environmental Educator- Menoken Farm, Burleigh County Soil Conservation District

• Excellence in Government- American Foundation for Wildlife, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, North Dakota Natural Resources Trust, and North Dakota Game and Fish

• Fire Department- Watford City Volunteer Fire Department

• Forest Stewardship Landowner- Dan Vogel of Fargo

• Media Outreach- Jeremy Jorgenson, NDSU Bison Athletics

• Natural Resources Professional- Michael Kangas, North Dakota Forest Service

• Smokey Bear Poster Contest Winner- Kambryn Peltz of Baldwin

• Tree Celebration- City of New Rockford

• Volunteer Organization- River Keepers

• Youth Tree Planters- North Border- Walhalla School

• Distinguished Leadership- Smokey Bear


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 12/12/2019 02:16