New Rockford Transcript - Official Newspaper of Eddy County since 1883

Dakota Datebook: First two senators, Thanksgiving 1945 and Turkey show


November 19, 2018

First Two Senators

by Merry Helm

Nov. 21, 2018 — On this date in 1889, the N. D. State Legislature elected Gilbert Pierce and Lyman Casey as North Dakota’s first U.S. Senators. The McKenzie political gang was in power on one side, and on the other was the Farmer’s Alliance, whose slogan was “The Farmers Must Rule North Dakota.”

Pierce was the choice of the Northern Pacific Railroad and had been popular when he earlier served as territorial governor; his selection met with little opposition. Casey, a Carrington rancher, was a bit different. McKenzie considered him a compromise when...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 08/15/2019 07:33