National Honor Society inducts 15 sophomores


November 25, 2019

The 15 inductees into the NR-S chapter of the National Honor Society (from left to right)- front row: Josh Homiston, Matthew Duchscherer, Madison Schuster, Kennedy Demester, Delana Thomas, Maria Becker and Mya Cudworth; back row: Koby Duda, Caden Price, Andrew Presnell, Nicholas Berglund, Hunter Jacobson, Kaden Jensen and Mason Schuster. Not pictured: Alyssa Thumb.

On Thursday, Nov. 14, the National Honor Society at New Rockford-Sheyenne High School inducted 15 new sophomore members.

In a 30-minute ceremony, each new inductee was recognized individually after the group collectively recited the pledge.

New Rockford Area Betterment Corporation Executive Director Amanda Hegland delivered an inspiring address. A former National Honor Society member herself, she issued challenges to the students for each of the four pillars of the organization: scholarship, service, leadership and character.

"I challenge you to never stop learning," she said regarding scholarship, adding that not everything is going to go according to plan. "It's not failing as long as you're learning," she noted.

In regards to leadership, she declared, "Grab a seat at the table." Hegland encouraged the students to take an active role in the community. "When you lead, you will succeed," she said.

Hegland referred to the youth of this generation as "culture creators and change makers" and challenged them to "lead by example."

The officers of the local chapter led a candle lighting ceremony. President Nathan Holzwarth lit the yellow candle, representing scholarship. Vice President Danielle Bjerke's red candle represented service, while Secretary Makayla Biel's purple candle stood for leadership. Historian Ashlyn Benson lit the final candle, which was blue and represented character.

The National Honor Society is advised by Rita Anderson, now in her 12th year at NR-S and her sixth year as advisor of the local chapter. The 15 new inductees join 27 other established junior and senior chapter members.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019